Gillian Anderson gets to work on season 4 of The Crown as Margaret Thatcher

Gillian Anderson on the set of The Crown

Gillian Anderson is at work on the set of The Crown season four (Picture: Getty/Twitter)

Gillian Anderson has got to work on The Crown season four.

The actress is playing the UKs first female prime minister Margaret Thatcher in the next season of the Netflix drama.

She will star alongside Olivia Colman, who is stepping into the role of Queen Elizabeth II for season three, taking over from Claire Foy.

The 51-year-old shared a picture of her trailer on Twitter as she arrived on set, ready to begin shooting her scenes.

In the photo the door to her trailer had a sign on the front that read The Crown with 12. Margaret Thatcher underneath it.

She wrote in the tweet: Btw…@TheCrownNetflix.

When her casting was confirmed, Gillian said: I am so excited to be joining the cast and crew of The Crown and to have the opportunity to portray such a complicated and controversial woman.

Gillian Anderson The Crown set

The ladys for turning (up to work) (Picture: Twitter)

Thatcher was undoubtedly formidable but I am relishing exploring beneath the surface and, dare I say, falling in love with the icon who, whether loved or despised, defined an era.



The X-Files star follows in the footsteps of Patricia Hodge, Andrea Riseborough, Lindsey Duncan and Meryl Streep in playing the Tory PM

Streep won an Oscar for portraying the late politician in The Iron Lady.

Margaret Thatcher

Margaret Thatcher died in 2013 (Picture: In Pictures Ltd./Corbis via Getty Images)

Emma Corrin has also been cast as Lady Diana Spencer in season four.

Tobias Menzes will take over Matt Smiths role of Prince Phillip, while Helena Bonham Carter is the new Princess Margaret, replacing Vanessa Kirby.

Josh OConnor will play Prince Charles, Erin Doherty is Princess Anne, Ben Daniels plays Tony Armstrong-Jones, Marion Bailey takes the role of Queen Mother, and Jason Watkins is Prime Minister Harold Wilson.

To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web
browser that
supports HTML5

The third series will cover 1964 until 1977 – including Harold Wilsons timRead More – Source